Group Notes








This page last updated
4 November 2009

© Copyright Wessex VTTA 2009




Group Notes

4th November 2009

by Ken Blowe

A successful End – to – End ride with a difference was achieved by Claire Newman and Sue Longland during the summer. They decided to ride from the North coast of France down to the Mediterranean in the South as a variation on the usual ride in this country. However this was no race but a very pleasant few days in mostly good warm weather conditions avoiding main roads and hilly areas.

Ray Gee (Sotonia CC) celebrated his 80th birthday on 29th July at a party laid on by his running club (as you all no doubt know he is a very good successful long distance specialist still winning awards in half & full marathons).
His son Julian (also a Group member & CTT National Committee member) presented him with his Honorary Life Membership certificate from the VTTA at the function.

In a complete change from last year’s awful wet weather on August Bank Holiday Sunday this year’s event over 25 miles took place in decent conditions – fine, fairly warm & without any real wind. Almost three quarters of the eighty entrants (including two tricyclists & two tandem pairs) were Veteran riders and in all 22 of the finishers beat the hour.
Fastest time recorded was by Simon Berogna of Wyndy Milla (54.11) with Mike Davey (Giant CC) second (55.20) and Ian Burgess (In-Gear Quickvit RT third (55.37).
Regular visitor Harry Featherstone (Eastbourne Rovers) was FOS + 20.49 and his name will go on the Wessex Group Challenge Trophy for 2009. Roy Fairchild (Bognor Regis CC) was 2nd FOS + 19.28 and he also wins the Bob Kemp Trophy with Chris Lord (Brighton Excelsior CC) 3rd FOS with + 16.47.

Fastest team with 2.53.05 was In-Gear Quickvit RT with Ian Burgess, James Brickell 57.54 and Juliette Clark (fastest lady rider) 59.08 whilst the Team award on Standard was won by Bognor Regis CC with Dave Patten + 14.15 & Don Lambert + 9.37 combining with Roy Fairchild for + 43.20.

Although this years entry for the GP des Gents 2Up TTT over 25 miles was down in numbers (possibly due to the series of postal strikes around the country) the quality of the field was excellent, Of the 20 teams who finished (out of a total of twenty three entered) seven achieved times under 55 minutes & another six beat the hour on a fine still yet coldish day when the temperature just about climbed to double figures by the end of the event.

The fastest three times were all recorded by composite teams. Julian Jenkinson & Paul Jones (51.23) were first, Mick St Leger and Simon Berogna second (51.45) & Glenn Longland & Steve Whitewick third (52.17). Jack Brown & Jonathan Hepper were clear overall winners on Standard with + 28.23 (57.15) with Terry Icke & Max Baldock second + 26.41 (4th fastest 52.49) & Glenn & Steve third + 20.59.
Jack Brown was therefore the winner of both Ivor Jones Trophies for the second year running. Lesley Walking, partnered by Rachel McGranaghan were ever so slightly disappointed not to have beaten the hour (1.0.05) whilst Quentin & Andy Storey again won both family trophies when another family pairing of Peter & Tom Horseman (Wessex RC) failed to start because of an injury to Tom earlier in the week.

Incidentally a talk with Julian Jenkinson & Steve Whitewick after the event resulted in both of them joining the Group for next year and we can look forward to them contributing to the Group’s successes especially as Julian stepped up to longer distance events in 2009 and achieved 3rd place in the CTT National 12 hour event and 4th place in the CTT National BBAR which was won by Nik Bowdler for the second year in succession. His times of 1.40.01 and 3.37.08 at 50 and 100 miles respectively together with 287.89 Miles at 12 hours gave him an average speed of 27.206 just fractionally slower than last year.

For the first time since I have been associated with Wessex Group I cannot recall that we have had three National VTTA Champions in the same year.
Ben Fielden’s success at 24 Hours reported in the last edition was followed by David Shepherd’s 1st place in the ECCA 12 hours on 23rd August with 268.44 miles & 1st place in the VTTA Championship at that distance (+ 56.60miles).
One week later John Woodburn rode the VTTA (East Anglia) 30 miles event and became National Champion at that distance with + 29.59 (1.10.30).
Other fine rides were recorded in the 100 miles championship run by West Group of the Association in which Dave England was 3rd FOS + 92.52 and Mick St Leger was fastest veteran with 3.45.11. Not to be outdone Norman Harvey & Mary Corbett won their third National Tandem Championship with of the year with + 39.38.

Brief details of many more fine rides, too numerous to incorporate in these notes, can be seen on our website www.wessexvtta.org.uk in the Group Notes section.

On the less serious side of our sport I have some news of past National Chairman Eddie Green. He tells me he recently broke his wrist in an accident involving his fishing rod whilst taking part in a match fishing competition.
After a week he had the usual plaster cast replaced by an elasticated support sling to give him more mobility and this not now dispensed with he will soon be back driving and more importantly riding a bike .

The AGM took place on November 1st with a better attendance than in the past few years. All Group officials were re-elected (no surprise ) and the one good thing coming about from the discussion on 2010 events was that everyone agreed that it is time to rethink the format of our long established 2 Up TTT. Next years event has already been arranged with Peter Warhurst taking over the duties of Event Secretary.
For 2011 an earlier place in the calendar will be sought on another course more central to our catchment area and the event might not be on the usual flat, fast dual carriageway roads we currently use but, maybe, at a non-standard distance on a hillier circuit course. Some of the specialist awards will be phased out next year as well since they now really do not carry the same kudos as they once did when we had two different races, each fully subscribed, on different courses for the event.

Will members please note that the Group’s Annual; Luncheon & Prize Presentation will take place at The Rose Bowl, Hedge End, Southampton on Sunday,14th February, 2010 - 12 noon for 1 pm.
Tickets will cost £ 17.50 and the usual detailed notice will go to all club contacts from our Chairman in the middle of December. This is one week later than usual to avoid a date clash with the National function the weekend before - we look forward to having a really good attendance at our premier social occasion of the year.