Group Notes








This page last updated
19 April 2009

© Copyright Wessex VTTA 2009




Group Notes

11 February 2009

by Ken Blowe

The final Open time Trial of 2008 in our area was the Farnborough & Camberley CC 10 mile event on 21st December & Wessex members figured prominently in the Result Sheet. Mick St.Leger (VC St Raphael) was 4th overall with 21.38 & FOS in Age Group 40-49 with + 4.52, Ray Hughes (Clarence Whs.) was FOS + 5.19 in Age Group 50-59 whilst John Woodburn (VC Meudon) was FOS 70+ with + 8.22 (24.08) and the winner of the Lew Alexander Memorial Trophy for Best FOS. Sally St Leger (a3crg) was fastest Lady with 26.29 whilst three other Group members (Robert Watson & Ian Gilding, North Hampshire RC and Dave Hutchins of the promoting club) also finished the event.

Barry Day (Bournemouth Jubilee Whs), Stan Bennett (Alton CC) & Dave Gaida (Reading CC) were omitted from the list of over 70 riders in the last “Veteran” magazine – there may be others out there who qualify for a mention but, with such a wide member base covering more than one District Council, it is difficult for Peter Warhurst, our Group Recorder to pick up every one still riding open events who are not members of South DC clubs. On his behalf can I ask anyone who qualifies this season to drop him a line, or phone or e-mail him next October so that they get on his list for onward transmission to the National Recorder.

We welcome five new members in Gerald Page (Somerset RC), Clif Pendleton (De Laune CC) who has transferred from Surrey / Sussex section, Ken Rayson (a3crg), Don Tanner (RAF CC), & Ian Wall (Sotonia CC) together with Graham Young (Bognor Regis CC) who has rejoined the Group.

The Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation was held at the Rose Bowl last Sunday (8th February). Seventy three persons (the exact same number as last year) booked in for this but the recent snowfalls & illness meant that nine of those were unavoidably absent. However for the first time in many years all the principal award winners were present. Our Guest speaker was Eamonn Deane and his reminiscences about his own experiences in cycling and especially those to do with the long, lengthy drive made to the National 24 Hour event in 2007 were well received. He paid tribute to all those officials & helpers who contributed to the running of the Group and afterwards his wife Bo presented the awards.

Mick St Leger & his wife Sally won the Men’s & Women’s BAR respectively (a truly unique double) as well as taking eight standard awards (five for Mick & three for Sally) – for good measure Mick also set new Group records (two at 10 miles & the other at 50 miles). John Woodburn (winner of six cups for various group championships, competitions and events) set two more National Records at 10 & 25 miles & Group records at 30 & 50 miles whilst Roy Fairchild (Bognor Regis CC) set the most Group records (seven in all at all distances up to 50 miles). Terry Jefferies (New Forest CC) & Barry Quick (Reading CC) were awarded plaques for 4 Standards awards each, Alan Dawson (recovering from his recent mishap but still walking with the aid of one crutch) received team medals won by Northovers VT for the 10 & 25 miles Championship & Jack Brown (a3crg) deservedly won the Ray Price Memorial Trophy for Over 70’s finishing the racing season well after a pretty dramatic early season beset with injuries and personal problems. Norman Harvey achieved one solo bike Record at 10 miles but the majority of his season was devoted to tandem racing with Mary Corbett and they again had a National Record at 12 Hours (215.950 miles), group records at 10, 25, 50 & 100 miles, were the only other finishers in the BAR and were 3rd fastest Wessex riders in the National Three Distance competition (+ 60.16) in which competition Dave England was the best placed Wessex rider with + 153.24 & Mick St Leger achieving + 123.53.

Eva Drinkwater, Vice President of Sotonia CC is now an Honorary Life Member of the Association and advises me that she still uses a bike for local journeys from her home in Bassett, Southampton. I had the very real pleasure of presenting Eva with the appropriate Certificate at her Club's Dinner & Prize Presentation on 31st January.
Ken Blowe and Eva Drinkwater
Ken Blowe, Secretary of VTTA Wessex Group (Fareham Wheelers) presenting Eva Drinkwater her Honorary Life Membership Certificate.

At that same dinner Sheila Hardy, the newly elected first woman Chairman of Cycling Time Trials, toasted the club & presented the prizes but, before doing so, presented a CTT Gold Badge of Honour to myself in appreciation for 40 years dedication to the sport of Time Trialing - the first such award to someone from South DC and a complete and utter, though very pleasant, surprise to me.

Finally a plea to all those who have not yet paid the 2009 Subscription (unchanged at £ 9 with Joint membership still at £ 10) to sent it to me as soon as possible.